The Organization Committee (OC) and the Chairs of ALGO 2020 decided to run the conferences online in a virtual way. What is most important is that the scientific activity of the Programme Committees of the ALGO conferences is not suspended or stopped: peer review, accepted papers, camera ready and proceedings will be accomplished as usual. Instructions for authors on how to give their talks online in the virtual room will be provided.


The European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA) is one of the premier conferences on algorithms. It is organized in collaboration with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and is a part of ALGO 2020.

Important Dates

  • Paper submission deadline: April 24, 2020, April 29, 2020 (23:59 AoE)
  • Notification: June 18, 2020
  • Camera ready: June 28, 2020
  • Conference: September 7 - 9, 2020, in Pisa, Italy

Call for Papers

The symposium seeks original algorithmic contributions for problems with relevant theoretical and/or practical applications. Papers with a strong emphasis on the theoretical analysis of algorithms should be submitted to Track A, while papers reporting on the results of extensive experimental evaluations and/or providing original contributions to the engineering of algorithms for practical applications should be submitted to Track B. There will be a Best Student Paper Award as well as a Best Paper Award, both sponsored by EATCS. In order for a paper to be considered for the Best Student Paper Award, all of its authors are required to be students.

Paper Submission and Proceedings

Papers should be submitted electronically via the EasyChair submission system. ESA 2020 proceedings will be published in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs) series, based at Schloss Dagstuhl. The proceedings chair is Grzegorz Herman, Jagiellonian University, Poland.

Submission Guidelines

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract or full paper of at most 11 pages excluding the title page, references, and an optional appendix. The submission should be typeset using a 10-point or larger font in a single-column format with ample spacing throughout and 2cm margins all around on A4-size paper. We recommend, but not strictly require, making your initial submission adhere to LIPIcs publication guidelines. Proofs omitted due to space constraints must be placed in an appendix. This appendix can even comprise an entire full version of the paper. The appendix will be read by the program committee members at their discretion. In particular, appendices of accepted papers are not going to be published in the proceedings. The main part of the submission should therefore contain a clear technical presentation of the merits of the paper, including a discussion of the paper's importance within the context of prior work and a description of the key technical and conceptual ideas used to achieve its main claims. These guidelines are strict: submissions deviating significantly from these guidelines risk being rejected without consideration of their merits. Papers should be submitted electronically via the EasyChair submission system. Results previously published (or scheduled for publication) in another conference proceedings or journal will not be accepted at ESA. Simultaneous submission to other conferences with published proceedings, or to both tracks of ESA 2020, is also not permitted. By submitting a paper the authors acknowledge that in case of acceptance, at least one of the authors must register at ALGO 2020, attend the conference, and present the paper.

Double-Blind Reviewing

The conference will employ a lightweight double-blind reviewing process. Submissions should not reveal the identity of the authors in any way. In particular, authors' names, affiliations, and email addresses should not appear at the beginning or in the body of the submission. Authors should ensure that any references to their own related work is in the third person (e.g., not "We build on our previous work ..." but rather "We build on the work of ..."). The purpose of the double-blind reviewing is to help PC members and external reviewers come to an initial judgment about the paper without bias, not to make it impossible for them to discover the authors if they were to try. Nothing should be done in the name of anonymity that weakens the submission or makes the job of reviewing the paper more difficult. In particular, important references should not be omitted or anonymized. In addition, authors should feel free to disseminate their ideas or draft versions of their paper as they normally would. For example, authors may post drafts of their papers on the web, submit them to arXiv, and give talks on their research ideas. In case there exist publicly available versions of the submission online, the authors might mention this in their submission (without providing references/links), and briefly explain the differences if any. Alternatively, they might communicate the details to the chairs, who will keep them confidential unless revealing them to the PC is needed for a fair judgment. Authors with further questions on double-blind reviewing are encouraged to contact the PC chairs.


Papers presenting original research in all areas of algorithmic research are sought, including but not limited to:

  • Algorithm engineering
  • Algorithmic aspects of networks
  • Algorithmic game theory
  • Approximation algorithms
  • Computational biology
  • Computational finance
  • Computational geometry
  • Combinatorial optimization
  • Data compression
  • Data structures
  • Databases and information retrieval
  • Distributed and parallel computing
  • Graph algorithms
  • Hierarchical memories
  • Heuristics and meta-heuristics
  • Mathematical programming
  • Mobile computing
  • Online algorithms
  • Parameterized algorithms
  • Pattern matching
  • Quantum computing
  • Randomized algorithms
  • Scheduling and resource allocation problems
  • Streaming algorithms



Steering Committee

PC Members (track A)

  • Amir Abboud, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Gregory Bodwin, Georgia Tech
  • Karl Bringmann, MPII
  • Deeparnab Chakrabarty, Dartmouth College
  • Daniel Dadush, CWI
  • Michael Elkin, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • Leah Epstein, University of Haifa
  • Manuela Fischer, ETHZ
  • Fabrizio Frati, Roma Tre University
  • Fabrizio Grandoni (chair), IDSIA
  • Kasper Green Larsen, Aarhus University
  • Jacob Holm, University of Copenhagen
  • Michael Kapralov, EPFL
  • Petteri Kaski, Aalto University
  • Telikepalli Kavitha, TIFR
  • Tomasz Kociumaka, Bar-Ilan University
  • Moshe Lewenstein, Bar-Ilan University
  • Shi Li, University at Buffalo
  • Yury Makarychev, TTIC
  • Krzysztof Onak, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
  • Seth Pettie, University of Michigan
  • Marcin Pilipczuk, University of Warsaw
  • Thomas Rothvoss, University of Washington
  • Laura Sanità, University of Waterloo
  • Saket Saurabh, Institute of Mathematical Sciences
  • Chris Schwiegelshohn, Sapienza University of Rome
  • Vera Traub, ETHZ
  • Carmine Ventre, King's College London
  • David Wajc, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Andreas Wiese, Universidad de Chile
  • David P. Woodruff, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Meirav Zehavi, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

PC Members (track B)

  • Armin Biere, Linz University
  • Maike Buchin, Bochum University
  • Markus Chimani, University of Osnabrück
  • Irene Finocchi, LUISS University, Rome
  • Travis Gagie, Dalhousie University
  • Rolf Niedermeier, TU Berlin
  • Kunihiko Sadakane, University of Tokyo
  • Peter Sanders (chair), KIT Karlsruhe
  • Yihan Sun, UC Riverside
  • Sivan Toledo, Tel-Aviv University
  • Jesper Träff, TU Vienna
  • Renato Werneck, Amazon


ESA 2020 proceedings will to be available in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs) series, at the beginning of the conference.